Pasture Management: Concurrent grazing with multiple species

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Arborethic, Oct 18, 2005.

1. Arborethic

Arborethic Well-Known Member

I've been running a pasturage experiment for the last two years. One area of my place is a 20 acre grazing/hay pasture. It had been neglected badly, so the improved grass (Coastal Bermuda) had shrunk greatly in density. At the current prices of fertilizer, and due to a prolonged drought, I just couldn't justify some of the maintenance costs. Fuel, time, and fertilizer would have brought too small a return on the capital investment.

So I went to the BLM auction and bought 4 jennies (minimum bid of $125 each). I tried to pick younger jennies that appeared to be in foal. Two of them reinforced my judgement, we quickly added another jenny and a jack. The jack is just getting old enough to do his job of providing more donkeys.

Donkeys are becoming better recognized as cheaper cost and maintenance alternatives to livestock guard dogs. Invading canines such as coyotes, stray dogs, and feral dogs get 'rolled up' by the donkeys in pretty short order. So eventually I'll cull the herd and sell a few.

I also added a half dozen haired sheep to this pasturage. Haired sheep do not have to be sheared, they shed their wool in the spring. They also have the reputation as being better tasting than domestic wool production sheep. Essentially, the haired sheep are wild animals, and never get very tame, even when you bottle feed them. Next year, when the flock is large enough, we will 'fix' some of the new rams and grow them for the meat market.