Over the Fence Chat - wk of 4-25

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by HilltopDaisy, Apr 25, 2005.

1. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi everybody. Well, I knew it was too nice to last. We've had a few weeks of awesome weather, warm and dry. It's snowing right now, windy, and there was ice in the water buckets this morning when I went out to feed. At least I was able to get the main garden areas tilled early this year.

I got my bee frames done last week, so now all I have to do is move everything to the permanent spot and set it up. The bees arrive in 2 weeks. I was pleased that while visiting my coworker (who has seven hives) I wasn't the least bit afraid. I have no experience with bees, never been around them before, ever.

All my seedlings are doing well. I have ten types of tomatoes, where in the past I normally would have tried 4 or 5. I hope to compare a few varieties of roma-type tomatoes for productivity and sauce-making, for my personal use.

There are so many things that I could be working on outdoors, but it's cold, and I just can't bring myself to go back out!

2. Topaz Farm

Topaz Farm Well-Known Member

Thank you Diane, I just couldn't think of it.

We planted some squash Sat. and it turned cold Sat. night. :no: The squash plants bit the dust.

It was real chilly Sun. but is warming up to 80 today.

And that is all the news on Topaz Farm. I need to go work with the horses, but it is just a little too windy and besides my kitchen floor desperatly needs moping.

3. NativeRose

NativeRose Texas Country Grandma