Organic Certification / Certified Naturally Grown

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by highlands, Oct 6, 2005.

1. highlands

highlands Well-Known Member

I just ran across this web site: http://naturallygrown.org/ which is an alternative to the expensive, high paper work Certified Organic labeling. Check it out if you aren't otherwise certified.

Cheers,

Walter Jeffries
    Sugar Mtn Farm
    in Vermont

2. seedspreader

seedspreader AFKA ZealYouthGuy

Nice site, thanks... I was telling my wife the same thing what a bunch of crapola the "organic" name has turned into with the fees etc.

3. pinemead

pinemead Well-Known Member

Excellent!! Thanks so much!

4. foxtrapper

foxtrapper Well-Known Member Supporter

Certify yourself as "naturally grown". It's a lot easier and you can use the same labeling. You can certify yourself as "all natural" and a host of other interesting titles.

5. FarmerJeff

FarmerJeff Well-Known Member

I am a Certified Organic Farmer. We run a very successful farm in NH. We follow the national organic standards to a "T" and have never had any difficulty with the exorbitant "paperwork" people are always carrying on about. Its just good business practice to keep excellent records. Our whole certification paperwork process takes one afternoon in the winter of reviewing our records and filling out the year' application and then two brief inspections with inspectors that we have developed a strong rapport with.

Many, many small farmers broke their backs to establish the certified organic movement. I think to just write off the term "certified organic" is a slap in the face to those pioneers.

6. seedspreader