Oregon and Washington advice

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by matt15, Mar 10, 2004.

1. matt15

matt15 Member

Hi I'm new to this great board,nice to meet yall.I had the unfortunate luck to be born in the ghetto of Chicago but my fiancee(not from Chicago) and I are moving to Oregon or Washington soon!
    Until we clean up our credit we have to rent.I'm looking for a house(or,manufactured) on at least 1/2 an acre(or with room for a nice garden) for under $800 a month.I prefer around $500,it can be a small 1 bedroom.What areas do you recommend?I would need to be within 30-45 minutes of a town where I could get work.Other than that I'm not too picky except I would like Oregon or Washington properties.If there are any internet resources such as realtors who rent or newspapers with rentals I would appreciate if you shared them.Thanks,Matt.

P.S. a nice safe town with kayaking,bike trails,fishing would be great!

2. Oregonsparkie

Oregonsparkie Well-Known Member

Hi Matt,

I have lived in both Oregon (where I grew up) and Washington. There are many considerations. What type of work do you do will determine the area best suited for finding employment. Do you want the desert terrain or mountainous or coastal areas? Do you like "ALOT" of rain or do you prefer sunny or snowy climated.

Both states offer such diverse living conditions.

Fill us in on more details about your preferences then we can better suggest a location for you both.

3. RAC

RAC Guest

Also know that if you live in WA, but are employed in OR, you are still required to pay OR state income taxes (yet are not allowed to vote or send your children to school there). WA has no state income tax.

4. Oregonsparkie

Thanks RAC,

I forgot all about that too. Its a good point to ponder!!

5. cntrydude

cntrydude Active Member

6. matt15

matt15 Member