Orchard Planning

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by ChiliPalmer, Jun 8, 2006.

1. ChiliPalmer

ChiliPalmer Well-Known Member

I'm planning out the future orchard, as it will likely be the first improvement we make. I'm no tree expert though and I'm having a little trouble digging up suitable information on all the different varieties. I was hoping someone here knows a good bit about heirloom fruit trees and can steer me to the best varieties and nurseries.

Let's start with apples. I'll be in zone 3b/4a, so I need something cold-hardy. We'll want a wide selection to cover all purposes, preferably several exceptional varieties each of which excels in one area, such as cider apples, pie apples, fresh eating and storage. But how on earth am I to choose! Just so far the list has Baldwin, Cortland, Liberty, Northern Spy, Red Gravenstein, Winthrop Greening, Yellow Transparent and Kingston Black Cider. Being as I still have to fit other fruit and nut trees into the orchard, can anyone give me more information about these varieties and which ones they would choose to cover all bases?

2. Ramblin Wreck

Ramblin Wreck Well-Known Member Supporter

I was struggling with the same problem ChiliPalmer, and I wanted a book or pamphlet that would just spell it all out for me. I never found one. Stella Otto's book "The Backyard Orchardist" is a good guide for the beginner, but it provides only general guidelines. Using her book and information from a local nursery that specialized in disease resistent trees in my area, I put in 23 trees last December to start my orchard. If they make it (and the deer and dry weather are taxing them right now), I'll have apples from late June to December, some for eating, drying, sauce, and cooking/baking.