opinions please

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Jena, Jun 5, 2004.

1. Jena

Jena Well-Known Member

this is a letter i've written to send to a local meat shop regarding selling my chickens in his store. i'd appreciate any opinions on it, or suggestions on how to make it better.

I am a local farmer who raises and sells all-natural, pasture-fed poultry. I have had a few of your customers suggest that I contact you about the possibility of selling my poultry in your shop, so I am. I am a licensed meat broker and all my poultry is USDA inspected.

Your customers love your meat! They cannot say enough about your beef and pork, but they have reported to me that your poultry is “ordinary”. My poultry is anything but ordinary and I think that it is a product you would be proud to offer in your shop.

I raise the best tasting birds I have ever had. They are raised on pasture, where the birds are free to eat grass, seeds and bugs. I mix my own feed from my own homegrown grains and other quality ingredients. They are not fed antibiotics. They are natural, healthy and as I said, they are the best tasting birds I have ever had. My customers love them and remain very loyal to my tasty birds! I am currently selling 300+ chickens per month and plan to sell 150+ turkeys during the holiday season. Many of these sales do go out of state, but my local customer base is growing.

I would like to offer you a couple of free chickens to try. Once you see for yourself how good they are, I would be happy to meet with you to see if you would like to sell them in your shop. I am open to any type of arrangement, whether it is direct wholesale sales to you, or a percentage type of deal for what is sold, or whatever else you would like to do.

Please contact me at your convenience and I will deliver your free chickens!

thanks
    jena

2. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter