Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,640 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Said to be 4.5 years old, unregistered, friendly, docile and taking a couple months rest before rebreeding. Owner asking $125 or partial barter for items I have. I'm a goat newbie and appreciate help.

p.s. aside from feeling her udder what things would want to inspect? Can you judge age with teeth like in sheep?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Well, everyone will tell you to get the CAE/CL tests done first.

She looks like a decent family milker type of goat. She has a long rump that usually means a good foreudder and area of attachment. Feet and legs look good- front legs might be toed-out/narrow chested, but she might be standing funny. Her hooves are trimmed and she sure doesn't look wormy.

She is fat, fatter than I would want to see a Swiss breed doe. She should be bred ASAP. Goats don't need to be dried off until they are three months pregnant. She's also totally the wrong color for an Ober. Either 1) there's a funny camera exposure 2) she's actually an Alpine or a random cross goat or 3) she has a severe copper issue. Obers are bay red.

I'd want to see an udder on a milk doe, and milk her. Buying a dry doe is like buying a horse without riding it or seeing it ridden. Goats' inscisors have the same replacement timeline as sheep, so you can age them using sheep guidelines.

·
Premium Member
4,057 Posts
I have some Obers and they really don't look like that. They are a darker, brighter color. Also, I would be suspicious as to why she has been left open. There's no reason to give her a rest like that.

She doesn't look fat to me, though.

Cliff

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
She doesn't look fat to me, though.

Cliff
Her front end, brisket, neck, and over the ribs all look filled with fat to me. Her loin looks okay yet cuz she hasn't got to that part yet. :) What can I say, i like them dairy :)

·
Super Moderator
12,837 Posts