? on deer hunting

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by stanb999, Nov 17, 2005.

1. stanb999

stanb999 Well-Known Member

Now I'm new to deer hunting and have a real delima. The deer are litterally all over the place but with the overgrown pastures and thick woods I can't really see to get a shot over maybe 100 Yards MAX. most places it's more like 100 FT.
    Now for the question...
    should I put up a tree stand or try to build a blind on the ground. In the trees it's even more difficult to see any distance but I have heard it keeps your scent high so the deer are less likely to smell ya. But if I was on the ground their are a couple spots where a longer shot greater than 50 less than 100 yards would be possible.

Also can anyone explain why the deer seem to be out only at night? Some times I see them at 6:30AM but never in the day and they are around just after dark.
    This is on my land so I see lots of sign but rarely see the deer.

2. I like to use treestands because of scent control. Most of my shots are within 50 feet of my treestand. What I like to do is look for bottlenecks and where they like to cross from one ridge to another and set up in these locations.

If there is a lot of hunting pressure deer will turn nocternal and more so if their is a full moon out.

3. stanb999

Thanks RH
    The thing with the deer is it's not hunting season for 2 weeks.

4. suzyhomemaker09

suzyhomemaker09 Well-Known Member

they are more active in the early morning and evening now because they have on their winter coats and it gets hot for them to do much moving during daylight hours.

5. margo

margo Well-Known Member

We have the same conditions here, young growth after logging and the noxious takeover of the green briar called multiflora rose. Slowly, we are tackling the stuff, to create openings and "runways" so that there still is cover, but a person will have half a chance to see a deer.

I figure we have the next 20 years to get 'er done...... :)