Ober, lamancha, alpine....which one?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by outofmire, Nov 4, 2005.

1. outofmire

outofmire Well-Known Member

I'm thinking about getting a fullsized goat. I'm leaning toward obers, lamanchas, or alpines.

My only reservation about alpines is that they are supposed to be bossy. What does that mean anyway? Are they mean to one another? How are they when it comes to being milked?

I was leaning heavily toward obers because of the milk taste and the fact that they are supposed to be quiet, intellegent, hardy. However, after looking at a lot of pics online, I started to get the impression that they don't have the best udders in the world. Seems like they tend to have poor foreudders....seems like they aren't well attached or something? Anyone know firsthand?

Then there is always lamanchas. I've had some experience with lamanchas. I like the long lactations, but one had recurrent ear infections. 2 of 3 that I had were really noisy....I mean seriously loud and obnoxious. Boy was she sweet though and really easy to milk. My husband doesn't really like them because of their lack of ears. I have to admit, I hate the gopher ears.

But really I'm more interested in which breed has the poorest udder. If I go with obers, am I going to have a hard time finding any with good udder? Also, which of the three has the worst temperament, and which is the loudest?

2. GoldenWood Farm

GoldenWood Farm Legally blonde! Supporter

Alpines from what I have experianced can and will be very nasty amongst one and other but with people tend to be sweet and easy going. Sometimes a bit bullheaded though.

Obers are the sweetest gentlest breed but can be very flighty if not bottle raised. I think you can find some real nice uddered obers. Just have to look. As far as milking wise the ones I milked where fine but watch out for bulbus teats as I have noticed obers seem to be prone to that. Makes it hard to milk as their teats get HUGE..