Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Paul in Indiana
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know why the price of numismatic/collector gold is so high. St Gaudens ms62's at almost $1200 while spot is $765???? 35% premium????What gives?

Makes me wonder what the cause might be. I'm not trying to be alarmist here but if there was a higher risk or insider knowledge of another confiscation of bullion, numismatics would go through the roof. Am I thinking straight here?

Does anyone know if this is in other markets as well or is it just in the US?

·
Uber Tuber
6,287 Posts
I am no expert, but I know dealers are having a hard time filling orders for gold. Waits of weeks for delivery are common.

·
Banned
1,627 Posts
Unlike bullion coins that are valued solely on the basis of their gold weight, the value of a numismatic gold coin is determined by several factors: its rarity, the number of coins originally minted, and the age and condition of the coin. Numismatic coins are bought and sold within the coin collecting community with little regard for today's gold price. Numismatic coins are cherished for their beauty, historical significance, and their potential investment value. Hence, numismatic coins sell at a significant premium over their intrinsic gold content.
must be to many people hoarding rare coins.

·
Registered
4,422 Posts
The gold "paper" market (futures) is selling gold "short". That is they sell gold that they do not have for delivery at a future date. They then need to sell the paper or buy gold. The problem is that they have NO gold right now.

Big banks show gold in their inventory, and sometimes have "leased" the gold out to others, and most likely will never get it back. Banks show gold on their balance sheets and they do NOT have the gold. Push comes to shove they either need to buy gold in the marketplace where there is a shortage or they need a BAILOUT.