Not as prepared as I thought

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Ninn, Nov 24, 2006.

1. Ninn

Ninn Custom Crochet Queen

:Bawling: Well, I am getting too close to cold weather for my physical comfort. I am not prepared for cold weather, and I am not prepared to prepare for cold weather. To explain: My dh and I purchased a trailer home for 1500 dollars. We got what we paid for-we sunk another 1500 into redoing the entire plumbiing system. (and I just found a leak.......lol) . That was all our savings. We saved for a month to have the furnace serviced and get it up and running. This place was open to the elements and every cat in town for over 2 years. We spent less than 20 bux and got the smell out (thank you kids and pets) but never even thought about the underside of the house. Well, that's not exactly true. I have been fussing about insulation for 2 months. However, I never thought about the existing ductwork. Wish I had-we have just found at least 3 places where it is pulling away from the flooring and several more where it has holes that go all the way thru. I am taking estimates now on getting it repaired, as to get it replace will cost more than I can save in a month. Why is it that I never thought about the ductwork? I have no idea. It should have been one of the first things I looked at. I guess it is time for me to overcome my fear of small spaces and crawl underneath my home to see what else needs my immediate attention. ICK! I hate small spaces. I don't go under things that weigh more than I do. I know it's irrational, but what if it falls on me??? And how in the world do I even know what I am supposed to be looking for? What was I thinking??? Now I am really scared of upcoming winter. With DH being laid off for 3 months and it being all we can do to keep food on the table and heat in the house over that period, where do I get the funds to fix the heating system? I cannot in good conscience keep on running the electric space heaters. And I