Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by johnk, Aug 17, 2004.

1. johnk

johnk New Member

I'm a complete newbie to the topic of homesteading. Is there a guide, FAQ, or dummies book on the topic?

Land appears reasonable. An acre or two in the US and Canada are usually under $20k. Property taxes usually under $100 a year. Most places will allow a mobile home. Goats & chickens appear to be low-maintenance.

For starters, how about a checklist of the stuff I'll need, costs that I should expect...

I thought I'd buy a small plot with a mobile home, put the rest in an Orange account, giving me food money and property taxes in perpitude. Just how close can I get to being able to rely on my acre and not working?

A fools dream, but what the heck.

John

2. cc-rider

cc-rider Baroness of TisaWee Farm Supporter

Read and re-read all of the messages on this board. Look in the archives. Lots of valuable stuff!

For starters.... how much money are you starting with? What is an Orange account? If you can find a couple acres for under $20K, you still need to add the mobile home (maybe another 10K used, plus hauling), well and septic (there's another $10-15K), another $2-3K for misc like electric poles, driveway, etc.

In some parts of the country you can probably find all of this already done for maybe $25K total. (Look on www.unitedcountry.com/)

With interest rates on your savings at only a percent or two, you'd have to have a huge starting capital to make enough to pay your expenses and not work.

I don't think it is realistic to think you can do this unless you've already got $200K in the bank and can live on $2000 a year. Total.

My father-in-law always used to say that if he won a million dollars, he'd keep right on farming til it was all gone. :)

3. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

As for relying on your land and not working, after 3 years hubby and I still aren't there.