Newbie - wants sheep for wool and dairy?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by sassy_mare, Oct 27, 2004.

1. sassy_mare

sassy_mare Well-Known Member

Am I asking too much?

I'd like to learn how to handspin and I would like to raise sheep for fun and making my own yarns.

I am also intrigued with the dairy side of sheep - but I know nothing about it - or about sheep in general!

What types would be good to have in Northern Minnesota - just a half dozen or so - lots of land to graze on. I don't think I want to keep my own ram...

Thanks all! I love this website!
    Sheri

2. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I've wondered if hair sheep wouldn't make better dairy animals as there is no lanolin to contend with. I have noen so I can't really say. I have milked several breeds, only one of those is considered a "real" dairy breed the Rideau Arcott. They seem to have a fine soft wool too but I'm new to wool expertise myself. I know we have a few wooly types through the board here and there are some threads if you search back too. Your not asking too much but do move slowly to get the sheep you want. It can be hard to get rid of a "starter" flock!

3. YuccaFlatsRanch

YuccaFlatsRanch Well-Known Member Supporter

From a google search on Dairy sheep:

The East Friesian breed is the most common dairy breed of sheep. Just as a cow dairy would typically start with Holstein, Jersey, or another dairy breed of cows, a sheep dairy would be advised to begin with a dairy breed of sheep. With the importation of half-Friesian rams, along with semen, there is now percentage breeding stock available in the United States. If you already own a flock, the most economical way to begin a dairy may be to breed your ewes to an outstanding dairy ram, and keep back the best daughters to build a dairy flock.