Newbie wants goats, need info

Discussion in 'Goats' started by poultryprincess, Mar 1, 2005.

1. poultryprincess

poultryprincess Well-Known Member

Howdy y'all! I really want to get some goats.....we are on 2 acres,but surrounded by 200 acres of brush. I thought a small breed like Dwarf or Pygmy would be best for handling & space. I was hoping for 2 or 3, but no buck. I am lactose intolerant so some milk would be nice. A neighbour has a mom with 2 kids (month old) that are a nubian mutt mix.They look about 100 lbs, & 30 inches high full grown. He asked for $125. which I thought very reasonable. BUT - **1) are kids that young very needy? They are not debudded, & I don't think that it even bothers me (but I am a newbie, so maybe there is a really good reason they should be done?) **2) I have never milked Anything, & he does not milk his herd of goats.< he said they really don't have much milk except for their kids> **3)What is a good age to get kids? I wanted to bond with them & their mom, so they could have some freedom - maybe even come when they are called. He has them all free range & they are used to alot of freedom. I would be locking them up at nite. **4) I guess I am trying to figure out if I should grab these ones which are a great deal, & they are from a happy home OR wait til spring <I have been waiting for a few years already, & don't want to miss another year!> I await your most divine wisdom :worship:

2. Mrs_stuart

Mrs_stuart Well-Known Member

Poultry Princess,
    first, if you are lactose intolerant, you may still be lactose intolerant with goats milk too, so before i started, i would find someone with fresh goats milk and try it for a while and see if it works for you before you invest in goat and then find out that you cant handle that milk either.