Newbie ?'s...long post

Discussion in 'Goats' started by janceejan, Dec 27, 2005.

1. janceejan

janceejan Active Member

I know this will be a long post, but I appreciate all the advice and information I get from this site and board. As I have said before I am new at this and only came into goat raising by one of my DH obsessions.

I wouldn’t take for them, but I am one of those who prefers to research a new venture without jumping in head first, which is what I was doing until DH pulled up in the yard with two nanny and a bottle feed 2 month old buck.

This is the setup we have currently. About 8 acres of typical west texas scrub land, mesquites, prickly pears and those grass/weeds/bush stuff. We have one pen that is about 30x30 with a shelter in one corner, old bathtub for the watering hole and a couple of tables made for resting. The ground was hard, but no rain, and now is just soft dirt about 6 inches deep. Our three goats roam all day and come into the pen at night for corn treat and a little feed. They also have a roll of sudan in the pasture.

I am helping out a friend by wintering her 16 goats; buck, wether and 14 PG mommas. She bought land and didn’t check her fencing, turned goats loose and they kept going….lol.

Now all 19 roam and forage all day, my three still go in the pen at night, hers get no extra feed, still have access to the sudan hay, do get some corn treat, lots of fresh water. We have a barn that we are converting to the goat house, currently that is a 20x50 area, dirt over concrete floor,(used to be a turkey barn) a few pallets and some straw, for her goats to get in out of the weather in.

My questions are this: my previous post on lump…some felt in could be CL and suggested isolation pen. How big should it be, how far away from others, do you set it up like my other pen, with a cover for weather? Our land is not currently separated into sections, just one big area.