Newbie question about "starting" plants...

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by RedTartan, Jul 19, 2006.

1. RedTartan

RedTartan Icelandic Sheep Supporter

I'm new to gardening. I've just bought a house that has NO flowers and a few overgrown shrubs. My SIL has lots of beautiful flowers and herbs and I know she'd give me starts from them. My questions are:

How much of a plant do I need to "start" another plant?

Do I put it in dirt and keep it moist or do I put it in a glass until I see roots?

How can I start larger plants like lilac bushes, roses, or butterfly bushes?

Thanks for your help,

:) RedTartan

P.S. This is a cross-post also found in the Frugal Thread on the Country Families forum.

2. Lynne

Lynne Well-Known Member

At this time of the year I would not try and start plants in pots because of the heat. Woody shrubs and vines (azeleas, clematis..) that have low growing branches can be weighted down into the soil. I loosen the soil under the branch where there is a node in the primary branch or where two or more side branches come off the main branch. Push the branch into the soil and place a rock on top, mulch and keep watered. Next year 9 times out of ten the branch will have set it own roots. Then you cut it from the host plant. Lilacs will make side shoots that can be dug out and planted in the fall or spring. Most perinenals can be divided in the spring and fall, then replanted.
    Ivy can be started in water or in soil that is kept moist.

3. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Well-Known Member