Newbie in Arkansas

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by cashburn, Sep 23, 2004.

1. cashburn

cashburn Member

My wife, four kids and I are in the process of buying about 120 acres in N. Central Arkansas (around Clinton) We are new at this homesteading thing but are very interested in getting started. Our biggest problem is how to make money. I am currently a high school teacher at an all boys private school and my wife is a purdhasing agent at a hospital. I would love to keep teaching but do not have a certificate and would need to find another source of income. The property we are looking at is all timber and we are considering having some of it harvested to get us started. Our question there is do we clear x amount or do we just have it selectively harvested or do we do both.

Any help you all could provide would be greatly appreciated

2. mtman

mtman Well-Known Member

you might have some black walnuts on your land lets not forget that is a high dollor tree

3. goatlady

goatlady Well-Known Member Supporter

Just curious as to why you are buying 120 acrea of bare land if you do not already have a plan to use it.

4. cashburn

cashburn Member

Our initial idae was to have place to get away from town on the weekends. Maybe build a small cabin or something. As we began to investigate into timber harvesting we began to think of possibly moving out of the city. It may very well be a few years before we can move onto the land permanently. But we are exploring the possibilities and necessities of moving out there.

5. Mudwoman

Mudwoman Well-Known Member