Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by dunroven, Dec 6, 2004.

1. dunroven

dunroven Well-Known Member Supporter

I have been lurking around here today reading some of the messages about the rabbits and I am very impressed! My husband and I want to get into breeding for meat and sales, but are unsure of how to go about it. We are very small right now. I'm almost ashamed to say, we have 5 does and 3 bucks. Two of the bucks were given to us and are california whites (I believe, ((they have black noses and tails)). I know that sounds dumb to ask, but I am really unsure. The others are all New Zealands. We live in Iowa, northern part, but were told that we could not breed in the winter. I am reading where most of you folks do that, huh? Please don't think I'm terribly dumb, I really am wanting to learn! Also, we have a source who we can get some Flemish Giants from which we really admire, and thought they would make great meat rabbits. This person; however, wants $30 for one or $50 for 2 rabbits. These are pedigreed. Here's my question on them. Is it better to buy the California and New Zealands and just go for the fryers, and if so, where can I sell them to with a continuing market, how do I find that? I know I'm full of questions, but I guess that's the only way to find out, huh?

Thanks for helping me and not thinking I'm too stupid! LOL! :(

2. rzrubek

rzrubek Flying Z

Hi dunroven, I would stick with the Cals and New Zealands. the flemish giant is not a good meat breed because of its large bone structure. The not breeding in the winter thing is based on daylight. If you keep your rabbits in a building and provide 12-14 hours of light a day then you should be able to get them to breed year round. Do not be ashamed of what you have or questions you may have. Everybody has started where you are now. Randy

3. rzrubek

rzrubek Flying Z