Newbie here...with questions.

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Freebird, Mar 23, 2005.

1. Freebird

Freebird New Member

Just wanted to introduce myself... I posted on another BB (a horse one) that I have really been wanting a Nubian Goat to have for a buddy to my Mini Horse and 2 month old Calf - she's a pet - and I was referred to this BB. Now, being a horse and cow person, I do have a few questions though...

How much acerage does does a goat need to stay happy and healthy?

Right now I have 4 Board wood fencing - what would I need to do to keep a Goat in? I'm guessing chicken wire, etc?

How old are they when they are weaned off their mama/bottle?

How much - and what - does a Goat normally eat in a day?

I wouldn't mind eventually having a Goat to milk, for our use, but what exactly does that envolve, since I am NOT getting up at 3 Am to milk a goat, lol.

What type of Vacc. and worming schedule do most people use for their Goats (I'm in Ga, if that helps)

Well....that's all I can think to ask....for now anyway, lol. Thanks in advance for letting me ask all of my dumb Goat questions. :cool:

2. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome!

Nubians need enough space for exercise - I have four goats housed in a small, 20x16 foot shed with a 60x60 dry lot yard. They get free-feed alfalfa hay all year round and grain on the milk stand. If you will be pasturing them and relying on the pasture for her nutrition then a lot more space is needed to provide that food. For pet goats, a good goat mineral and free-feed good-quality grass hay may be all you need. But milk goats definitely need the alfalfa, in hay or pellet form. Mine eat about 15 pounds per day between the four of them...and waste another 3 or 4 pounds on the floor. :rolleyes: