Newbie here with a question...

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Drifter2475, Dec 24, 2005.

1. Drifter2475

Drifter2475 New Member

Hello folks this is my first time posting but I read alot of what u guys write...What advice could you give me on Homesteading pros and cons? U see guys I'm a 90% Disabled Veteran on limited income and I'm 30 yrs old...I love the country and one day hope to have at least 5acres or more. I live in Eastern NM but orginally from Texas. I dont like the dusty area that I live in because it leads to allegeries and sinus....I would like to move to Morgantown,WV...Its very beautiful in that area. The only problem is I have a 5 yr old daughter who lives in TX and that would hurt me not being to close to hurt.Right now I'm 3 hours from her one way...If this isnt making any sense I'm sorrry...my brain doesnt work like it once did....I want to buy land some day soon...and if there is any Veterans who have use a Vetrans loan on buying a house and land plz if u could provide any details I would appreciuate it if u have time..thanks....well I hope to post more in the future....thanks again and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all....

2. Silvercreek Farmer

Silvercreek Farmer Living the dream. Supporter

I'm not sure about Morgantown, but there are some places in WV that are still beautiful and cheap, maybe off the beaten path a little, but may worth a look, too bad it is so far from your daughter. If you are on a fixed income, I think the cost of living in most of WV is low, and your check would go pretty far, good luck and thank you for your service.

3. okgoatgal2

okgoatgal2 Well-Known Member