Newbie here - help!

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by oakhillfarm, Jun 2, 2005.

1. oakhillfarm

oakhillfarm Member

We brought home our first cow ever. She is a 4 year old Jersey. She came from a Jersey dairy 3 hours away. The dairy is organically run, but will use antibiotics for illness, keeping the cow off the line until her milk tests clear again. The cow, Poppy, is registered and seemingly extremely fit. This is her 2nd lactation. We bought her 2 month old heifer as well, although they have never been together (and aren't now).

The dairy sold her because she has a blind quarter (always been blind, no history of mastitis) and is therefore just not as high a producer. Her breeder has a large herd of registered, organically raised Jerseys and chooses to limit her milking to only 20, so she occasionally has a few she is willing to sell and "rotate out". I was told that the cow normally gives between 30-45lbs. a day and has 4.6% fat content. While she is extremely good-natured, loving and fond of human interaction, she is not used to hand milking and is obviously under a great deal of stress from her journey and being separated from her birthplace/herd.

We milked her for the first time last night with the help of a neighbor who had some experience - very soon after unloading. If I include the milk that got spilled or soiled and thrown away while we were learning, she gave about 2 gallons. It took forever and she was very agitated - her let-down happening in short spurts, almost like she would let down and dry up again depending on her level of agitation.