newbie hay question

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by ajaxlucy, Sep 12, 2004.

1. ajaxlucy

ajaxlucy Well-Known Member Supporter

I'm new to sheep and don't have any yet, but if all goes well, I'll have a couple of Shetland ewes soon. I hope you all can excuse my ignorance. My question is: at a show last weekend, I saw some blue pouches full of hay hanging in the stalls. What are they called, and where can I get them? Or should we just build a feeder? Thanks to any who answer.

2. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I would think those bags are great for a show as they don't take up a lot of room but I don't know how durable they are for full time use. Still it could take quite a while for 2 sheep to ruin one! Rule of thumb for feeders is to keep the spacing around 31/2 -4 inches or so they can't get their whole head in. You'd want any mesh bag to be the same.

3. MorrisonCorner

MorrisonCorner Mansfield, VT for 200 yrs

We bought feeders from Agway... we'd planned on making them but time ran out. To the spacing thing I'd add if you're making your own Premier sells these metal panels with 4" squares which make fantastic feeders.. simply put them on an angle, drop bail behind. The sheep can't waste nearly the hay they can with the "spoke" type feeders from Agway. I'd say fully 1/3 of my hay hits the ground, where the sheep won't touch it.

Live and learn...

4. landlord

landlord Well-Known Member