New Zealand dairies?

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Up North, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Up North

Up North KS dairy farmers

I'm new to Homesteading Today. I was just wondering if anybody here is a dairy farmer from New Zealand. My husband and I have been studying how they farm over there and are very interested. We currently are milking in an old outdated stancion barn. We are actively switching over to a grazing system. We want to build a parlor ASAP. As soon as a parlor is built we are going to go seasonal. I'd like to hear from anybody who has something to say on the subject.

2. JanO

JanO Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to HT. I'm sure that somebody is going to jump in from NZ in here. But I'm also going to suggest that you visit the forums at http://familycow.proboards32.com/ There is a gal in there that is from NZ and she is a wealth of information. I think she can help you find some of the information your looking for. Just post your question and she'll jump in... very nice and happy to assist if she can.

Good luck
    Jan

3. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member

Hi there,
    What is it you would like to know? Although I no longer dairy in the commercial sense, I still milk cows (6 at present with a maximum of 10) and do it 12 months of the year with spring and autumn calvers. Feel free to ask away.

Cheers,
    Ronnie

4. Up North

In all of my reading on New Zealand dairies it seems to be very common for one person to be able to milk in a double ten or larger. I've talked to a lot of people in my area who say a double 8 is way to big to milk alone. One guy even said a double 4 is too big to milk alone. My biggest question is why can one person in New Zealand handle so many more cows than a person in Northern WI.

5. JeffNY

JeffNY Seeking Type

Up North,