Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the idea of owning alpacas. My grown daughter wants to go in partners with me on a small herd. I am to do the day to day chores. DD will help with the shearing,trimming, ect. DD is to take the fleece from that point and process it to either sell the yarn or to make salable items from it.

A little background on us. We are in Eastern Kentucky and have enough room for a small herd on our farm. We raise cattle(4), horses(2), chickens(15), and rabbits. We are not interested in showing but would like to do some breeding in the future. Small children visit our farm from time to time so a gentle disposition is desired.

I'm thinking in terms of perhaps two or three geldings to start with. I've done a lot of reading but still have many question in my mind.

Can I geld an intact male somewhat like a bull calf or is this a vet procedure(we are a long way from a vet)?

Can cattle or horses and alpacas graze together?

I'm thinking in terms of $1000 to $1500 to get started. Is this in the ball park?

I read a lot about looking for conformation and fleece quality but I haven't been able to find any specifics on what good conformation or fleece consists of. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Foghorn

·
Registered
686 Posts
When ostrich came out everyone was going to get rich. Llamas were gold for awhile, Tibetan Yaks. ..... When it comes to big money (to me) it seems like the first in make money. Ostrich eggs went from pennies to 50 dollars and then in one dae up to 500 dollar. Alpaca hair is great for mom and pop shops, but we are so limited on machines to work with it here. Yes if you have money they are /or can be a good write off. If funds are limited, please be careful.

·
Just living Life
8,280 Posts
You should be able to get some gelded boys for a couple hundred dollars each.