new to the board wanna move away

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by dutchman, Sep 15, 2005.

1. dutchman

dutchman Member

Sorry this question might have been asked a million times by now....but I am new here.

We live in a community right now, but I want to get away from the city live and move to the country, big piece of land, animals stuff like that.... but I have never done that before, where would I start..... :confused:

We are looking at some land (government claim land) and might move to that build or mobile home. but then what do you guys think I should do before we make this step? Right now we live near Seattle, WA and want to move to the Auburn, Kent area where there is still land availible,........

Thanks for the help.

Andre

2. pcdreams

pcdreams Well-Known Member

first of all the homestead act is gone.. IE no more free land.

If you're talking about mining claims: be careful. Know that there are restrictions as to what you can do.

that aside you need to find out climate, job market, etc to decide where you want to buy your land.

There are millions of ways to get infor on how to do homesteading things but I think you may have stumbled onto the best site to get answers.

Disclaimer: Homesteading can become addictive :)

3. thedonkeyman

thedonkeyman Well-Known Member