New to pigs

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by GoatTalkr9, Feb 16, 2004.

1. GoatTalkr9

GoatTalkr9 Well-Known Member

[/SIZE]Hi all! I've been trying to read up on your posts! I am completely new to pig raising, and need to know as much as I can learn. I live on a farm in Wv. We have decided to raise our own pigs to butcher..but nothing else beyond that.My inlaws and hubb know how to butcher them out. I need to know the best breed for my area and when/where I should be looking for buying? Is the stock sale ok for buying..or should I look elsewhere. Thanks in advance for the info,and I'll be here on a regular basis!

2. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

Hiya and welcome! I think most breeds are adaptable to specific places- I tend to like the Duroc or the Duroc cross because it is what I've worked with. To be honest, I'm abandoning the domestic eating machines and going for the much cheaper, much more delicious razorback cuisine. As for purchasing, I've purchased from the Agricultural Marketplace in my state (FL) and have been more than pleased with the breeders, the conditions, and the prices. Never been to an auctionor stock sale. I prefer to go to the home and check out how anaimals are kept.

3. cowgirlone

cowgirlone Well-Known Member

Welcome! I prefer the durocs, hampshires and yorks. You might want to contact your county agriculture agent or local farm/feed store to see what is readily available in your area.
    People usually purchase weaning pigs in the spring, feed them out and butcher in the fall when it's cool. It takes anywhere from 4 to 6 months to get one to butchering size. It wouldn't hurt to start looking for a supplier now.
    I avoid the sale barns for any animal....it's just me. I'm sure there are perfectly good animals there. For an animal you are going to eat, I'd buy from someone that has a good reputation, doesn't heavily medicate. That's just my opinion.