New to pigs

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Lynnette, Mar 28, 2006.

1. Lynnette

Lynnette Michigan Hobby Farmer

Hi All,

I am new to pigs but DH and I want one in the freezer by next Winter. I am trying to learn and learn fast as I know prime buying time is now. My brother in law keeps insisting on giving us a pot belly pig as he raises them and plans to butcher them off. We have told him no thanks, but he doesn't get it. :confused: Feeder pigs are called feeder pigs for a reason just as pot belly are pets. :1pig: I don't know much but I know I am not raising a pot belly to eat. So anything anyone can tell me, from housing to diet, to breed recomendations would be great. I am researching online, but to me there is no subsitute for advice from people who have done it and/or are doing it. Also, I live in Michigan so anyone who has any to sell and lives in Michigan I may be interested.

Thanks,
    Lynnette

2. John Schneider

John Schneider Well-Known Member

It isn't hard Lynette, but there are some considerations to fencing etc. Also, there are numerous ways in which to do this. Are you considering an "organic", pastured approach (which I recommend) or are you simply putting them in a pen to 'fatten' in as short a time as possible? Diets, breeds and housing arrangements are as varied as there are people doing it! I suggest a book on the subject even though you are in a hurry. You need to know what you are looking for in buying a weaner and you need to know what to feed and when. A good book is "Storeys Guide To Raising Pigs". There are others.