new to homesteading

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by mcurry, Apr 23, 2005.

1. mcurry

mcurry Guest

Hello to everyone!
    I am new to homesteading and just found out about it within the last few weeks. My dh and I, along with 5 newly adopted children, live in a small town called Barstow CA. We have a rather large home (4500sqft) and 1/3 of an acre in the front that we are cultivating. Right now we have 8 fruit trees (no citrus yet) and dh has been putting in a garden as we speak. Right now we have tomatoes (lots), pole beans, bush beans, beets, carrots (2 types), collards, kale, lettuce, peppers of all kinds, zucchini, and cucumbers. I am homeschooling the children and gardening is their science project. I would like to live off the grid, but due to my disability, I need my jacuzzi. We have invested in 8 cute little chicks in anticipation of wonderfully beautiful eggs. My husband says that when it's time to eat the chickens (sounds horrible but we gotta eat) that there are people that will kill and dress the little dears for us. I will be checking on that. Are there any suggestions that you may have for me? I want to really become self sufficient, live a quiet life and mind my own business. What else should I be doing? Oil lamps, quilting? I would appreciate any help that you can give me. Thanks for your time.

Barstowmama

2. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to Homesteading Today! I think you'll enjoy it here, as there is always something to learn. Read, read, and read some more!

3. JanO

JanO Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to the group. I'm going to second what Daisy said... make sure you read. Get as much knowledge as you can... Carla Emery's "Encyclopedia of Country Living" is the best resource available today. There are also other very good books, but as far as I can testify to Carla's is the one you want to start with. You can order it at http://www.carlaemery.com