New to goats, urgent Mastitis question

Discussion in 'Goats' started by norsebear, Mar 4, 2005.

1. norsebear

norsebear Member

Hello folks,
    we just started homesteading and raising a couple of goats. We bought a pregnant pygmy goat and she had 4 kids day before yesterday that were all still born. Now it seems her milk is starting to come in but she has nothing to nurse. We are worried she may develop mastitis and even if she doesn't we don't know what to do now. Will the milk go away?

We would be very thankful if you could help us with these questions.

Thanks for your time,
    Mike

2. eggladyj

eggladyj Well-Known Member

So sorry for your loss! Can't imagine what I would do.

I'm no expert by any means, but I'm sure she will develop a problem if you do nothing. Are you not interested in milking her to make cheese and/or yogurt? That is what I would do! The first 'milk' she has is colostrum and I would milk it out and save it for future use in case of a disaster, it freezes well. I'm not sure how long it takes for the mothers hormonal stuff to clear from the milk but once that has happened you can milk your girl twice a day and save up untill you have enough to make something with it! Check out these sites and you should find the info you need;

http://kinne.net/index.html This one is exclusively about Pygmy Goats.

http://fiascofarm.com/ This one is about dairy goats.

These are my two favorites for getting the skinny on stuff! Good luck with your girl, I'm sure she is suffering from the loss as you are and needs extra attention more than ever!

Jeannine

3. debitaber

debitaber Well-Known Member