New to Goats Help Please!!!

Discussion in 'Goats' started by MaryW, Nov 8, 2004.

1. MaryW

MaryW Active Member

Well, I have got me a goat. I'm so proud of her. I wanted a milk goat for so long. Now I got one:)Like I said this is new for me. I have had her a total of a week and half. She is a Alpine. Looks just like a Deer! Beautifull. This is new and she is supposted to have her first in January. What should I expect? What do I do? How long do I leave her with her kid? I really want to milk her and now I go out several times a day for her to get to know me. I'm I doing the right thing or should I just leave her alone. She is not the tamest I've ever seen but, I just thought she was so pretty. Will try to take a picture of her to add so you can see her. How do you know it's time? Will she be ok? What does she need to eat and how much? I know a goat will eat anything but, I want her to be eating the right stuff. MaryW

2. Starsmom

Starsmom Well-Known Member

Hi, I'm kinda new to goats too,but I will offer my opinion. Contrary to what you have heard, goats do not eat everything. You can feed a good quality hay and about 1Lb grain per day. For a pregnant doe, you should increase her grain to about 1 1/2 to 2 Lbs per day. I feed mine a mix of cracked corn, complete horse and barley. Complete horse is suppose to be a good substitute for places that don't have a goat ration supplier. You can also feed lamb creep for the young ones. Also, they will not eat any food that touches the ground. They are actually very clean animals (except the buck during rut)

I've got a pregnant doe, but I don't know when she actually got pregnant. Have asked for help in another string, so I can't add much there. You are right, they are beautiful animals and mine are so loving. You are right to go out and spend time with her, especiailly since you will be milking her. I would spend some time getting her used to you touching her udders. That way, she won't be upset when you try to milk her.