Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Have been around the site a couple years but never registered. Used to frequent other places and post but this one seems more my style and seem like good folks. Anyway here's my question.

I am fencing in new areas both big and small for pigs, goats a couple calves and such. I'm not new to farming, homesteading and raising animals however I am new to electric fencing and have never really had hands on with it. I have a few small fenced areas that've been fenced with 48 inch field fencing. In these couple areas I will have a couple pigs and a couple goats. I intend to run a hot wire to keep the pigs from rooting and another wire up higher to keep the goats off of it (these animals will not be all together but at times i may run either goats or pigs in these areas). Now I've read alot about electric fencing and the voltage and joules and such needed to achieve this however what I've found is for using electric as the stand alone fencing. For my application where the electric will only be used to keep them off the woven wire do I need a super duper knock'em off charger? Can I get away with a small more economical charger? Not trying to be a cheapskate but don't want to spend money when it's not really necessary. I just have in my mind that since I'm just trying to keep them off the fence a little snap on the snout with lower voltage will do the trick. Say maybe .5 joule? Or if really necessary will 1 joule be enough or do I really need to bite the bullet and go for the "Big Zapper"? No I don't want to chase pigs around the country and no I don't want to empty my pocket on a charger. Please someone point me in the right direction! Thanks

·
Registered
9,852 Posts
I would go with at least a 2.5 joule low impedance fence energizer. If you lose one animal because of a cheap fence you've bought a much more expensive fence but have nothing to show for it.