new septic tank hookup

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by leaping leon, Aug 22, 2005.

1. leaping leon

leaping leon Well-Known Member

I'm posting here to try to reach someone, anyone who will know the answer to this...I've already spent more than three hours searching the web with no results...

I'm plumbing in a new septic tank; this is my first time...I'm ready to lay the drain pipe from the mobile home to the tank...and...

There's a soft plastic "cap" set into the tank opening. There's no opening in the cap. When I pushed on it I could feel something solid behind it...I took a hammer and gently tapped the cap in the center and it sounds and feels like there's concrete behind the cap - about 1/4" to 1/2" behind it...

So, how do I get the drain pipe into the tank? Do I punch out the concrete behind the cap? Is there supposed to be a baffle behind the concrete behind the cap? Or do I have a defective tank?

Please help if you can, or refer me to someone who can. I need to get the septic tank plumbed in so we can get it inspected and move in...it costs too much where we live now.

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    Are there any openings inside the tank below the area where waste would enter if there was no baffle? What is the height of the drain port in referance to the entrance port? I am not familiar with an entrance baffle but its been 25 years since I installed a tank, designs may have changed. Some one more familiar will answer this soon.

3. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter