New Puppy

Discussion in 'Goats' started by T Lynn, May 14, 2005.

1. T Lynn

T Lynn Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, I am new to this post and fairly new to goats. I have had dairy goats for about 1 year. Currently have 5 adults and 6 kids. I have alpines and nubians and 2 crosses. Today I got a 5-6 week old akbash/anatolian puppy!! We have not had problem with loosing goats but have heard coyotes in the area and peolpe do not keep their dogs fenced here. We have 3 1/2 acreas that the goats roam on. So what are the do's and don'ts to get this girl trained right? Do I put her right into the pen with the does or keep her separated but were she can see them? Please let me know any experience that anyone has had. She comes from working parents and was in the pasture with sheep.

Thanks for any advise.

2. susanne

susanne Nubian dairy goat breeder

i would have left the puppy with mom so she can learn from her. maybe you can bring her back for couple more weeks? and than put her to the goats and she will know what to do.
    susanne

3. T Lynn

T Lynn Well-Known Member

It is not an option to take her back. I know that it would have been better for her to stay there but they could not keep her for any longer. So now she will have to learn on her own. So I need to know what to do with her.

4. cutinpony

cutinpony Active Member

We just bought a Komondor Puppy Who was in the same situation as yours. We took him to the goat pasture with us and would let him loose while we did chores so we could keep an eye on him and the girls this has gone on for a couple of weeks as of yesterday he was left there to bond with and protect our goats. My mentor who also has LSG dogs advised us on doing it like this.
    Cuttinpony

5. T Lynn

T Lynn Well-Known Member