Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Crooked Gap Farm
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I've already asked a question about my dexters, but I thought I could introduce them also. The need to be cleaned up a bit as they pretty much just came off of a dry lot, but in time ... in time. You can check them out over at my BLOG

Also, we are going to be rotating them through some different paddocks separated by electric fence. Right now we are using battery powered fencers on our farm for the horses, but we saw some solar units on sale at our farm store and I was wondering about those. Does anyone have any experience using a solar fencer? How would it stack up against a battery powered fencer? We are talking about small paddocks on a 2 acre pasture right now (hey, we only have two dexters and they are little!). Any help would be great!

·
Premium Member
2,349 Posts
I have 20 years of experience with Dexters and more than that with electric fencing. Save yourself a lot of trouble and expense: forget about buying battery and solar fence chargers.

Go buy the best and strongest 110 volt unit you can afford, way less trouble. They cost very little to operate, and much easier to maintain, there's no changing/charging/replacing batteries.

The only exception is if you are trying to heat up a fence an unreasonable distance from a plug in.

·
Registered
504 Posts
Cleaning cows? What's that? They'll go lay in their own manure more if you do that. Mine absolutely HATES being sprayed with water.

Not to worry too much about that subject, unless you're milking, too, then you'll want her brushed clean so whatever she has on her fur doesn't go into the milkbucket. I hose off her lower legs and hooves, too, before I bring her into her stanchion.

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Hi ebook! You have a nice blog there! Congrats on the new Dexters! We looked at Victoria too..she is VERY nice! We took Dorian, Chrisy and Ebony. Dan is a pleasure to deal with..isn't he?