Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My family is getting a 1 to 2 day old jersey girl. What Questions should I ask. And when do we dewormer her. What vaccines will she need. IS there a book I can read on this matter. Thank you for the help.:cow::happy::happy:

·
Premium Member
1,313 Posts
I'm new to this too, but I'll offer what help I can.

A two day old calf should have had colostrum from it's mother or another source. It's a must have. Don't take the calf is she didn't get colostrum within the first hours after her birth.

Look at her navel for signs of infection. It should look dry and healthy, no redness or swelling.

Clear, bright eyes and a wet nose without any colored discharge is good. Her back end should be clean too.

Make sure she's not a twin calf with a bull calf as the other twin. She would be a freemartin and be sterile as an adult. (90% chance freemartin, 10% chance of an intact heifer)

The experts will be able to help you more than I can.

What are your plans for her?

·
Registered
4,163 Posts
Don't do it. Taking a 2 day old calf without already knowing what you're doing is completely irresponsible. At least give her a couple weeks to get going.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK,Then how old would you say 2 weeks or more. what is the best for newbie that want a calf to be a pet and milk cow.

·
Registered
403 Posts
Suppose to do your learning and research before buying a cow. Yes, there are books but you need time to read and ask questions of other cow people. Are you set up for a cow, fencing, shelter, water? And a 2 day old calf will need to be bottle fed for months. Like DaleK said, don't do it.

·
I'm skinny
166 Posts