new and lots of questions

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by newfiemom, Apr 12, 2005.

1. newfiemom

newfiemom New Member

Hi everyone,
    My name is Jane - I'm new to the forum and I'm also new to country life. A year ago I sold my house outside of Boston ( a tenth of an acre without a single tree ) and moved to 6 beautiful acres ( 3 acres of woods ) in Middlesex, New York.
    I have 8 Newfoundland dogs, 2 baby goats and 6 chickens. I've lived all my life in cities. I guess my biggest question is how do I go about meeting folks?
    I'm single and nearly 60 - some days it's pretty scary.
    Anyway, I would love to hear from you people who have been through this.

Thanks,
    Jane

2. bare

bare Head Muderator

Whoa! Get ridda some of those dogs for starters! :D

3. mamabear

mamabear Well-Known Member

It is always fun to welcome new friends here! Congratulations on obtaining your dream. We're still working on ours, but some day... :)
    As far as meeting folks go, I recommend just being seen. If there are any kind of get-togethers, such as fairs, Sunday meetings, even the gatherings that seem to spontaneously happen at the feed store :haha: make yourself seen. When you are working in your yard and you happen to see somebody driving by, make sure you wave. If you're driving by a neighbor's and see them working in the yard, stop and introduce yourself. In my experience, folks love being asked about local things; history, what kind of plant is that, what's eating my ducks, etc. If you go to the store, talk to everybody.
    Can you tell that I love talking to folks? It has always worked for me. I've never had anybody be ugly, and I've met some really great people.
    And it is nice meeting you. Hope that you come back often and stay long.
    :D mamabear :D

4. newfiemom

newfiemom New Member

No way - they're my family - and they save on heating bills!!

5. sisterpine

sisterpine Goshen Farm Supporter