Neutering

Discussion in 'Goats' started by JayinCT, Aug 18, 2005.

1. JayinCT

JayinCT Well-Known Member

ok, I'm new to some of this and have been asking several questions about my Pygmy's. The next one is as follows: This year's males are now 4 months old. Did I wait too long to neuter them and not have them at risk?

Jay

2. suzyhomemaker09

suzyhomemaker09 Well-Known Member

A friend neutered one that I had that was about that age..seemed pretty simple as she used a razor blade like fits in a box cutter, made a very small incision and out popped those little marbles...sliced the cords and all was done, very little blood and we treated it with some topical antiseptic meds. He's healthy as can be now a few months later...

3. JoyKelley

JoyKelley Well-Known Member

take them to the vet, it isn't that expensive. I did it with mine , just a bit younger than yours and it was the smartest way to go

4. starjj

starjj Well-Known Member Supporter

Is it too late to band them?

5. GoldenWood Farm

GoldenWood Farm Legally blonde! Supporter

You should be still able to band them. I would NOT go to the vet as they charge you a outragious price for that sort of thing :shrug: . It is really horrid. I band all my kids at around 3 months but mine are standard size and I am sure with a pygmy you can band them at 4 months. It is really easy to band. Some people are against it though. If I was you I would find a fellow goat person who knows how to band and have them help you.

MotherClucker

6. JoyKelley

JoyKelley Well-Known Member

Motherclucker, my vet only charged 50.00 and he gave them their tetnus shots as well. It didn't seem to be too big a price to pay after having such a horrible experience with my first banding.

7. Mrs_stuart

Mrs_stuart Well-Known Member

We took in one of our obers to have him cut and out vet only charged us $10... :dance: