Nervous and I'm sure I'll mess something up!

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Sarah J, Mar 1, 2005.

1. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I've lurked a bit here and there, but I think this is the first time I've posted on this forum...

I have three rabbits. Yes, a whole whopping three! Obviously I'm new to this! :haha: I have a Dutch doe for a pet for my children, a New Zealand (with blue eyes, not red ??!?!) white doe, and a buck who is a satin and Californian cross.

We bred the two meat rabbits a few weeks ago - due date is March 7th. This is her first litter as she's probably only about 7 or 8 months old (I don't have an exact birthdate, but have had her for five months and she was still fairly small when we got her). Just let me know if this is right. I put the nesting box in on the 4th or 5th. She should be pulling out fur and lining the nesting box for the babies, right?

It has been below freezing here this past week, but she should be able to keep her kits warm with the fur? I will be double checking, probably every hour on the hour that day until she has them!

Is there anything else I should be doing? I'm nervous, excited and about ready to burst with anticipation....I know things can go wrong, but if I can eliminate MY part in that, I'd feel an awful lot better about it!

Sarah

2. Rosarybeads

Rosarybeads Well-Known Member