Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me say I've been lurking for a while but finally made an account. You guys are so helpful and so full of information. I'm hoping I can get some help here.

Bear with me this is my first post.

I have a few oil lamps, with the glass chimneys that I've been using for a few years and never had a problem, fill with lamp oil, light, and cover back up and the flame stays right where I put it for hours.

Recently, I picked up a cheap walmart lantern, the old hurricane lantern style, filled it with kerosene and read the instructions a few times to give it time to soak, and lit it up. Everything is good, no wick burns, no problem. About an hour later, I see the flame get bigger out of the corner of my eye, I go to turn it down and get no response from the knob so I blow it out and put it up for a few days while I research. I found nothing, so I thought I'd come here and inquire. I'm using standard 1/2 inch wick, with crown brand kerosene.

Just a few minutes ago, I tried it again, making sure the wick was not too high and kept a dead close eye on it, making sure everything is in place and sitting as it should and it happened again, this time in about 15 minutes. It's not overfilled and everything was sealed so I'm just not sure what's going on for sure. My brain is saying flare up, but I'm new so I dont know for sure.

I guess what my questions are is

1) is this normal? Some places I'm reading is that when it's up to temp, the flame will get a little bigger and start to burn a little bigger and brighter but that's normal. Others are saying if you have no control over the flame by the knob, it's a dangerous situation, which is the way I'm leaning.

2) would it be the flash point of the kerosene? Its crown brand k1 kerosene. Supposed to be 150 degrees flash point but again, I'm getting conflicting answers and I cant find an accurate msds on the stuff.