Need volunteers

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by Ross, Oct 24, 2005.

1. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

Terrible title if you want anyone to read the post but what the heck! :clap: We're looking for a few people to send us wool to be processed into either roving or batts. No charge for the processing but shipping to and from would be your responsibility. We won't charge any handling or packing fees..... just whatever shipping method you want charges! We're just learning so don't make it your most precious wool and its at your own risk. Common sense would say ship it washed (it weights a lot less). Any amount up to 5 (washed) pounds. We do want some feedback, after the fact if possible. Anyone interested can PM me for an address and details. Thanks! :bow:

2. luvrulz

luvrulz Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi Ross! We have some from their first clipping and so I had heard it's not worth much to spin....I am just learning too and am not really sure how to clean it or anything....

PM me and I will work on cleaning it and learning how to do that..... It's from Jacob and I have a Perendale cross and can send some of both... Send me your address and I can let you know when it's ready.

Best wishes,
    Joellen Tubbs

3. Ross

I'll have my wife PM you Joellen she knows about washing better than me. I mean I know hot water no aggitation soak for "X" amount of time with "Y" amount of Dawn spin out and either repeat or spread out to dry.

Just wanted to add if the PM feature on HT is a hassle for anyone you can always Email me at sheepfarmer@sympatico.ca or just post here as Luvrulz did. Thanks

4. Ross

Here's the washing instructions Ann sent:

Hi this is Ross's wife.
    Here are the instructions for washing your wool.
    I use dish soap allot of the time as it is a good grease cutter. Do not use woolite or any other soap for washing fine wool clothes.

1. Fill washer with hot water and soap
    2. Add fleece
    3. Let it soak
    4. Spin water out