Need some advice for hand raised birkshire piglet

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Casastash, Apr 24, 2018.

1. Casastash

Casastash New Member

Hi All,

First time raising a piglet, I’m a vet tech and he was dropped off at my farm because he was going to die. I think he was about 4 days old, you could see every bone and he couldn’t stand.

He’s about 6 weeks now and for a while has had a head tilt. After castration last week he developed mucous from his nose and a cough which I treated with Noromycin. He is still burping up milk and a tiny bit of mucous with feeds, otherwise no cough or mucous.

He isn’t gaining weight as I would have expected, granted he started off behind the 8 ball.

He lives with a bottle goat, a grown goat,ducks and geese. He has an acre pen with shelter and goes in our pasture from time to time

He gets free fed dry grower with 2 feeds of grower mixed with milk replacer. He also get fresh vegetables daily, leafy greens, beets, squash etc. He has been dewormed. I was advised against iron shot because he was so thin when I got him and I’m wondering if this could be what’s holding him back?

Currently he has a big head, round belly but you can easily feel his ribs and spine. Definitely not a plump piglet.

He has grown A Lot but we want this guy in the freezer happy and healthy so any advise would be very appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Casastash

Casastash New Member

3. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member

From your description I was expecting to see some emaciated, large-headed, pot-bellied piglet. In fact, given the bad start to life, he isn't looking too bad at all for an approximately 6 week old piglet with such a rotten start.