Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,808 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing kratky for several years and finally going to try a strawberry or lettuce tower build. I know how I am going to run the plumbing but I cannot for the life of me figure out what the name of the fittings are! I've never worked with irrigation line before.

I am wanting to come off of my submersible pump with a 1/2 inch tube. Then have it go to 1/4 inch tubes into the tops of the vertical pipes. How do I attach the 1/4 inch tubes? It looks like there is something that attaches to the 1/4 inch tube and then maybe punctures the 1/2 inch tube with a barb fitting?

I have been looking for over an hour and nobody mentions the names of these. A link would be most gratefully appreciated.

·
Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....?
77,221 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,808 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I saw those but they aren't exactly what I am looking for. The thing I am looking for literally attaches a 1/4" tube into a larger tube. The fitting in the link looks to be a flow controller. I just want to go down to a 1/4" tube without a flow control. I'll have the pump on a timer. I want nutrient solution flowing over my roots as this will be my first vertical installation I'm more concerned with too little than too much.

I'm thinking of putting something inside of the pipe tower to direct the flow towards the roots in individual openings.

·
77,221 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,808 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I would love to be able to post pictures from my computer but I cannot seem to figure out how to do that. It keeps asking for a URL. This is the youtube video my idea is based off of. The design is still in my head. If you look at the top part of the system you can see there is a bigger supply line with 1/4" tubing coming off of it to feed each vertical section of pipe.