Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an ash tree that is down but hung up in other trees. The base of the tree is in a creek and the top is in other trees. My thought is to go from the bottom up?! I plan to saw the base with a nice wedge on top and then up from the bottom so the tree can pivot in the wedge and I can get my saw out. Then the tree will not fall very far as the bottom is almost to the ground. I will keep doing this until I can pull the tree top out of the other trees. Am I on the right track?
See the pictures below of the trunk and then up to the top part.
I am a novice a this!
IMG_4504.JPG
IMG_4502.JPG

·
Registered
9,044 Posts
To quote George Clooney from "Oh Brother Where Art Thou" you are in a tight boy

If it were me, I would try to winch the top of the tree away from the others first and trim from the top down as far as I needed.
2nd choice might be to rise up in my tractor loader and trim it back from right to left. Depending on the size of tractor, you may be able to just pull that mess apart and onto the bank. It would be easier in sections though.
If you don't have a tractor, well...
From the photos, I can't see cutting at the base will do anymore than drop the trunk into the creek bottom.
Regardless of your plan, be careful, well equipped and protected; there is a reason those are called widow makers.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3