Need info on goat as PET

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Crystal_W, Sep 15, 2004.

1. Crystal_W

Crystal_W New Member

Hi there.
    I have been thinking about a pet pygmy goat for awhile, and was wondering where I could find more info on keeping them as pets. I don't intend to breed or anything, I just want to spoil the little thing! I have heard that the pygmys are more affectionate, is this true? Does anyone know what the typical minimum acreage is to own a goat (I'm in MN if that makes a difference).
    Thanks to anyone who can help me out! I would like to learn from as many resources as possible before embarking on this.
    One more thing - can goats and dogs get along well if they grow up together?

Thanks again!!!!
    Crystal

2. Ginny

Ginny Member

Hi Crystal,
    I am very new to goats but, I have 2 Nigerian Dwarf Goat wethers. They are wounderful sweet little creatures and I would recomend them as pets to anyone. I also have a dog a black lab, it took a little time but once they got used to each other they get along fine. They share the same fenced in area with seperate houses, but sometimes I find the goats sleeping in the the dogs house, and the dog has taken on the roll of guardian.
    When I was first looking into a goat as a pet I was told you really need at least 2 so they don't get lonely, they are a heard animal.

Good Luck,
    Ginny

3. mary,tx

mary,tx Well-Known Member Supporter

I don't have pygmies, but will add a few general things. One, a goat needs a good fence, away from any little trees, rose bushes, shrubs, etc., that you don't want eaten. A buck will not be a good pet. If you get a male, be sure he is wethered. It is true that a goat needs a companion. If it gets along with the dog, that might work, otherwise, you do need two.
    They are sweet, funny animals, but do have some minimum requirements, such as shelter and regular hoof trimming.
    mary

4. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter