Need ideas for staking pole green beans.

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by GR8LIFE, Apr 21, 2005.

1. GR8LIFE

GR8LIFE Well-Known Member

Hubby picked up the bean seeds today and got the pole type instead of bush. That's okay because I like trying different things but I'm wondering what others use to support their beans. I would like to know what you use to stake them and how you build the teepees. Also do you plant one hill in each tee pee or do you plant seeds around the perimeter. How many beans per section do you plant. Since I've never done this before, always planted bush beans, I'm looking for ideas. I live in Virginia where humidity is a factor in case that matters.
    Colleen

2. Pony

Pony Well-Known Member Supporter

Ah, you may find that you will never go back to bush beans once you've planted pole beans! They are my favorite!

I use bamboo poles for teepees. Just push the end of the pole into the ground, oh, around 4"-6", I guess, and lash them together at the top. I plant about 6 beans in a circle around the base of each pole, water, and let 'er rip! Oh, they are so nice!

If you're doing rows, you can set up t-poles in a line and tie twine horizontally, back and forth, between the poles.

And of course, there's always the Three Sisters: Plant corn, plant the beans along side the corn (it will grow up the corn stalks) and plant your squash thickly around the perimeter (spiny vines deter nasty little raccoon-type critters from your corn plants).

I wish it was warm enough here for beans, but it looks like Old Man Winter is taking a final curtain call: Snow and 30 degrees on Saturday. <sigh>

Pony!

3. Paquebot

Paquebot Well-Known Member