Need ideas for metal stock pile

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by jackie c, Apr 1, 2005.

1. jackie c

jackie c Well-Known Member

On another forum, a member had built a light stand/mini-greehouse out of copper tubing, and shared how to with us. I built one and it works great (some day I'll get a digital camera and post some pics).

Now its got me to wondering what other handy things for the farm, greenhouse, etc., could you make or have made out of leftover or found reclyclable copper tubing, square metal tubing or pipe, channel, I beams, etc. I am a welder so lots of stuff is in my skill range to make. I have an awful lot of this stuff (stored up) and access to very cheap or free metal as well.

I've got a few ideas what to do with some of it, like trailers, a new deck for my truck, fencing, a bridge across my small river. Now I need inspiration for smaller projects, like the mini greenhouse. Anyone care to share??

NEED IDEAS!!! :D :worship:

2. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

jackie,
    I have no skills in fabricating, and you are very fortunate to be able to do this from using past work experience for your own endeavors. Must be very satisfying, and save money too.

I did have fabricated for me the following:

-Rack for the pickup with steel tubing so that I could attach boards across to hold big piles of wood shavings that I hauled from the sawmill. One could also use it to haul an animal.

-a good strong hitch to attach to a homemade sled to carry firewood or gear on the back of a snowmachine

-trailer hitch frame to a 1/2 bed that was cut off an old pickup

-stainless steel sheets were welded to make a fish holding tank

other ideas maybe somehow fabricate a varmint proof metal feed holding tank, make a live animal trap? I like the bridge over the river idea.

3. Cindy in KY

Cindy in KY Well-Known Member