need home remedies

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by big d, Sep 25, 2005.

1. big d

big d Member

I am interested in home remedies, both herbal and otherwise. If anyone has any remedy idea, old wives' tale, or otherwise helpful info, please share them with me. Thanks-- Jeannie (big d's wife)

2. vtfarma

vtfarma Well-Known Member

drink a bit of cider vinegar to cure heartburn - sounds dumb worked for me.
    nettie pot with salt water is the best cure for a sinus infection
    gargling with warm salt water works well for getting rid of a sore throat
    echinacea seems to help us head off a cold or flu if we are getting sick
    fresh air cures most everything!

3. moldy

moldy Well-Known Member

I have several - I am not a doctor, this is not medical advice, check with your doctor, sister-in-law that's a nurse, second cousin who thinks he's a doctor,etc,etc.
    I use the book written by Balch called "Prescription for Natural Healing', but it lists mostly supplements - most of mine I have found on the internet
    Supertonic
    Mix equal parts chopped onion, garlic, chopped horseradish, chopped hot peppers, chopped and peeled ginger and echinacea in a glass quart jar. Cover with cider vinegar, cover and let stand for 2 weeks. Strain out solids and place in clean covered jar. Store in a cool, dry place. Use 1-2 tsp. in at least 4 oz of water as a tonic.
    At the start of flus, colds, etc. I immediately take 15 drops of grapefruit seed extract (available at health food stores) in 4 oz of juice. This stuff is HORRIBLE, very bitter; but it seems to work well. I repeat that in 12 hours and usually it takes care of whatever I've got.
    The website for No Greater Joy contains a lot of herbal recipes as well as a link to a bulk herb store. It is a conservative relegious site, but the household-type link is quite good.