need help getting rid of comrey

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by blindhen, Oct 5, 2005.

1. blindhen

blindhen Member

anyone know a good (non chemical) way of getting rid of comfey...i've been battling with it for 2 years....maybe i should just give up and start a new flower bed elsewhere?

2. culpeper

culpeper Well-Known Member

Whenever you dig comfrey, you'll inevitably leave behind some tiny pieces of damaged root. Each of those will become a new plant. As I guess you've discovered. The only thing I can think of is to hire a bobcat which can dig up the entire plant plus the soil around it, reducing the likelihood of leaving behind any root. Comfrey has a very long taproot, however, so it might take several scoops to get it all. Depending on how much comfrey you have, you could lose half your garden in the process!

However, if you're not that keen, dig up what you can of it and sift the soil to remove all the root pieces, and as soon as you see a seedling pop up, remove it immediately while it's young and relatively helpless. With perseverence, it will eventually be got rid of. Ask me how I know!!

3. Charleen

Charleen www.HarperHillFarm.com Supporter

Oh, lucky you :p I'd love a big patch of comfrey to feed the goats.

We have a small plant that isn't doing too well. Maybe if I try and remove it, it will grow better ;)

4. Kee Wan

Kee Wan Well-Known Member

I"ll bite....How do you know??

5. minnikin1

minnikin1 Shepherd

How to get rid of comfrey?

Start selling it.

As soon as you decide to sell starts, you will not have enough
    and/or it will all die.
    :eek:

6. homebody

homebody Well-Known Member

If you decide to sell iton the barterboad, you'd probably get some buyers. People say that chickens like it, I don't know what else does. Have never seen any except in pics. ;)

7. MaineFarmMom

MaineFarmMom Columnist, Feature Writer