Need frugal tips for baby...

Discussion in 'Countryside Families' started by kbaldridge06, Nov 27, 2006.

1. kbaldridge06

kbaldridge06 Member

I am expecting our first child in March and would like some frugal tips to keep it cheap. We are having a girl and I am already making her clothes, we will dress all of our girls in dresses and to find dresses that are acceptable to us is a difficult task. It has been much easier to make them. I do plan on using cloth diapers and breast feeding. I know that will save lots of money there. I am a housewife and so I will not be working. I do plan on making all of her baby food, much healthier than the Gerber stuff I was amazed at how much sugar they add. I know there is stuff that I have not thought of because I've never done this before. I do have a 3 yo brother so I have an idea of what to expect...although I will find out things I didn't know by being the primary care giver. Thanks for all your help.

2. TedH71

TedH71 Well-Known Member Supporter

Be sure not to have too much infant clothes because they do grow fast! I have already had all the baby clothes I need at present time. It's baby furniture, and other things that I need and am working on that. My son is due April 7th. I would say 80% of the baby clothes were given to me free of charge because my future mother-in-law had saved all the baby clothes and I got some new clothes by my relatives so I'm set. Diapers...well my fiancee and her family said no to clothes diapers saying they were too hard to clean and that I would have more diaper rash with the cloth diapers so that battle, I've given up due to keeping the family peace but I have convinced my fiancee that I do not want our son to be circumcised because it is actually medically unnecessary.

3. unregistered6474

unregistered6474 Guest

Babies aren't as expensive as you might think. Kudos to you on breastfeeding - that is so much better for your baby! It will save you a great deal of money, too.