Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in baby-sitter 'really-hot-place'

I am a teacher who goes back to school Aug 9th.
My DH is a correctional officer who is on the 2-10p shift until Jan and his days off are Wed/Thurs....so we need a sitter for 1-4pm on M/Tu/F

since last Jan he was on a 10p-6a shift and we didnt use a babysitter.

the only daycare here is full thanks to the teacher in the local school district that has 3 under the age of 6...

Option #1--the next nearest daycare is 15 miles away in the opposite direction....so DH would have to drive 30 miles round trip before work and I would have to drive an extra 16 miles to pick up after work. This daycare charges $14/day for anything less than 4 hrs per day.

Option #2--same Daycare as mentioned above charges $77/week for full time....this would be about a total of 20 miles RT for just me (nothing for DH as I would drop off and pick up

I cannot find anyone in our town willing to watch my 2 1/2 year old

so I called the lady that watched him for the first part of last school year...she didnt answer so I left a voicemail. I heard later that she may not be living in the area much longer....didnt sound very promising

I have a phone number for a couple of different ladies that MAY be interested in babysitting.....both would involve an 'out of the way' drive for both of us.

Option #3----lady #1--has a DD in my DD's class...also has a 3yo who will go to preschool and a baby at home...currently she is working but is or has quit because she will have to drop off and pick up her [email protected] our school they must be 4 before they can ride the bus. She may be watching the 6mo baby of the Kindergarten teacher (who is also hunting a sitter) This option is a 30 mile roundtrip for DH and about 6 mile RT for me